webinar register page

JTS 2021 August 6th
Junior Theorist Symposium, Day 2, August 6th

10am to 11:30am PT/ 1pm to 2:30pm ET
Panel 3: Categorization, Temporality, and Expertise
Discussant: Gil Eyal (Columbia University)
Presenters:
Arvind Karunakaran (McGill University), “Truce Structures: Minimizing Protracted Jurisdictional Conflicts between Professions”
Angela Serrano (University of Wisconsin-Madison), “Towards a Multispecies Sociology: Oil Palm Trees as Mediators of Social Inequality”
Blair Sackett (University of Pennsylvania), “It’s About Time: The Temporal Dimensions of Social Capital in a Refugee Camp”
Tara Gonsalves (University of California, Berkeley) “Trans Circulations: Institutionalizing Gender Categories”

11:40am-12:10pm PT/ 2:40pm-3:10pm ET
Keynote Address: Neil Gong (University of Michigan and University of California, San Diego), winner of the 2020 Junior Theorist Award for "Between Tolerant Containment and Concerted Constraint: Managing Madness for the City and the Privileged Family."

12:30pm to 2pm PT/ 3:30 pm to 5pm ET
After Panel: “Theorizing for Troubled Times”
Panelists: Javier Auyero (University of Texas, Austin), Jennifer Carlson (University of Arizona), Harvey Molotch (New York University), Christina Simko (Williams), and Howard Winant (University of California, Santa Barbara)

Aug 6, 2021 10:00 AM in Pacific Time (US and Canada)

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Laura.