webinar register page

JTS 2021 August 5th
Junior Theorist Symposium, Day 1, August 5th

10am-11:30am PT/ 1pm to 2:30pm ET
Panel 1: Identities, diasporas, and memorializations
Discussant: Jean Beaman (University of California, Santa Barbara)
Presenters:
Rui Jie Peng (University of Texas at Austin), “Rightful Bargaining: Rural Women Making Claims for Social Provisions in China’s Targeted Poverty Alleviation Program”
Sandra Portocarrero (Columbia University), “Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Work and a Theory of Racialized Expertise”
Antonio Montañés Jimenez (University of St Andrews), “Christianity, ethnicity and Gitano politics of memory in Spain”
Gaurav J. Pathania (Georgetown University), “In Search of a New Identity: Anti-Caste Activism among Dalit Diaspora in the United States”

11:40am-12:10pm PT/ 2:40pm-3:10pm ET
Keynote Address: Kyle Green (SUNY Brockport) and Daniel Winchester (Purdue University), winners of the 2019 Junior Theorist Award for “Talking your self into it: How and when accounts shape motivation for action.”

12:30pm to 2pm PT/ 3:30 pm to 5pm ET
Panel 2: Race, Markets, and Work
Discussant: Fred Wherry (Princeton University)
Presenters:
Parijat Chakrabarti (Princeton University), “Platform Vision, or Sense-Making in a Platformed World: New Economy Experiments in the Produce Markets of “Silicon Savannah”
Meredith Hall (The New School for Social Research), “Property and Its Provenance: A Case Study of the Emergence of Ownership”
Anjanette M. Chan Tack (University of Chicago), “When Gender Conflict Breaks Racial Alignment: Gendered Racial Schemas and Immigrant Identity Choice at the Black/Asian Interface”
Davon Norris (Ohio State University), “To Score or Not to Score: Racial Inequality and an Epistemology of Ignorance in an Algorithmic Age”

Aug 5, 2021 10:00 AM in Pacific Time (US and Canada)

Webinar is over, you cannot register now. If you have any questions, please contact Webinar host: Laura.